The attitudes regarding Marijuana is changing across much of the country, and perhaps to some extent in Tennessee as well, but the laws remain the same. The simple possession of Marijuana in Tennessee is a Class A Misdemeanor.
Effects of Pleading Guilty to Marijuana Possession in Tennessee:
- Permanent drug conviction on your record
- Sentence of 11 months, 29 days in jail (typically suspended to probation)
- Regular and Random Drug Screens
- Mandatory Minimum fine of $250
- Payment of Court Costs (typically around $900)
- Community Service (Some counties require)
Keeping it Off Your Record
There a number of ways to resolve simple possession charges in Tennessee to keep it off of your record. Pre-Trial or Judicial Diversion are two options. Some Tennessee counties are willing to resolve simple possession citations by either what’s known as a ‘retirement’, which means that after a certain period of time, so long as you stay out of trouble, the charge is dismissed. Other Tennessee counties may allow the completion of public service work and/or drug related classes to have your charge dismissed. Every county, judge and district attorney are different and it is important to speak with an attorney who is familiar with the Tennessee court where you are charged.
Do I qualify for diversion?
Call our office to discuss, or click here to see if you are eligible for diversion, either pre-trial or judicial.
Our Tennessee criminal attorneys handle hundreds of marijuana cases every year. We handle each of them with the understanding that all criminal charges are serious and understand the possible consequences if not handled properly. If you are charged with a misdemeanor criminal offense in any Tennessee county, do not make the mistake of resolving it without first having an experienced Tennessee criminal attorney review your case. Contact our Tennessee lawyers today to discuss the criminal charges you are facing.