Simple Possession in Tennessee is to knowingly possess or casually exchange a controlled substance. It is a crime in Tennessee and is classified as a Class A Misdemeanor, which carries a maximum punishment of up to 11 months, and 29 days in jail.
Punishment for Simple Possession in Tennessee can include:
- Permanent drug conviction on your record
- Jail time, Probation and Drug Screens for 11 months, 29 days
- Mandatory Minimum Fines and Court Costs
- Fines up to $2,500.00
- Community Service
- Drug Offender School
- $250 Drug Testing Fee for any agreement under either Pre-Trial or Judicial Diversion
Is there a way to keep this from becoming a conviction on my criminal record?
Possibly. There are a few ways to keep a charge off of a persons criminal record. Pre-Trial or Judicial Diversion is one way. Some Tennessee counties are willing to resolve simple possession citations by either what’s known as a ‘retirement’, which means that after a certain period of time, so long as you stay out of trouble, the charge is dismissed. Other Tennessee counties may allow the completion of public service work and/or drug related classes to have your charge dismissed. Every Tennessee county is different and their respective handling of these types of cases may be different. Call our office to discuss your specific situation.
Am I eligible for diversion?
Click here to see if you are eligible for diversion, either pre-trial or judicial.
Contact our Tennessee criminal lawyers today to discuss the criminal charges you are facing in Cookeville, Nashville, Lebanon, Murfreesboro, Gallatin, Franklin or Dickson, TN.