A first, second, or third offense DUI in Tennessee is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable with mandatory minimum jail time and a maximum of 11 months, 29 days incarceration. The fines can range from $350 up to $10,000 as well as the loss of your driving license from 1 to 10 years.
A fourth or greater DUI conviction is a Class E Felony, and includes a mandatory minimum of 150 days in jail up to 6 years maximum incarceration. Fines for a felony DUI in Tennessee range from $3,000 up to $15,000. Loss of driving privileges are from a minimum 5 years, up to an indefinite suspension.
In addition to mandatory jail time and the loss of your drivers license, DUI convictions are expensive. Probation fees, alcohol monitoring device fees, SR22 insurance all are part of the financial obligations for a DUI conviction. Being charged with a DUI in Tennessee is also time consuming and stressful.
DUI laws in Tennessee are expansive and require a careful analysis to determine your best possible outcome. Not having a lawyer can result in serious and long term consequences. Every county and court in Tennessee handles cases different. Our Tennessee DUI lawyers have practiced in 26 counties across the state and have offices in Cookeville and Nashville. Whether you were charged in Cookeville, Murfreesboro, Gallatin, Franklin, Dickson, Ashland City, Lebanon or Nashville, you can call our Tennessee DUI lawyers today to discuss your case and possible representation.
More Information on: DUI First Offense / DUI Second Offense / DUI Third Offense / Felony DUI
Our Tennessee Criminal Attorneys handle the defense of the following driving related Tennessee offenses:
Driving Under the Influence (DUI or D.U.I.)
Driving on a Revoked or Suspended License