DUI First – Tennessee
DUI is one of the few offenses which nearly anyone could commit and it is no reflection of you as a person, good or bad. People make mistakes. Our job is to ensure the best possible outcome in your case, to make sure you understand the process and give you the ability to make informed decisions about your case.
Possible Punishment of a DUI 1st Offense in Tennessee:
- Mandatory Minimum of 48 hours in jail (If BAC greater than .20, mandatory 7 days in jail)
- Maximum $1,500 Fine
- Loss of drivers license for one year
- Community Service
- Ignition Interlock Mandatory with BAC greater than .08
Impact on drivers license
A DUI conviction will suspend your license for a period of 1 year. Effective as of 2013, the Tennessee DUI law was amended to require anyone whose blood alcohol level is over .08 is now required to have ignition interlock installed in their vehicles to obtain a drivers’ license. Ignition interlock is required if:
(1) blood or breath alcohol concentration was 0.08 percent or higher;
(2) you are accompanied by a person under 18 years of age;
(3) you are involved in a traffic accident for which notice to law enforcement is required under present law and the accident is the proximate result of the person’s intoxication; or
(4) you are in violation of the implied consent law, and has a conviction or juvenile delinquency adjudication for a violation that occurred within five years of the instant implied consent violation, for implied consent, underage driving while impaired, the open container law, or reckless driving if the charged offense was DUI.
Is it common for first time DUI offenders to have their charges reduced to reckless driving?
No. This is a very common myth about a DUI first offense in Tennessee. Every case and its facts are different. Those facts may be viewed differently in one Tennessee county from another. There is no ‘normal’ disposition for a DUI first in Tennessee. Call us to discuss your case and it’s specific facts.
Importance of Hiring a Lawyer
DUI laws in Tennessee are complex, constantly changing and involve issues which most would never consider. It is important that you hire an experienced DUI attorney. There are many issues which need careful examination to properly defend a DUI charge in Tennessee.
If facing a DUI charge in Tennessee, call our lawyers today to discuss representation.
Tennessee Criminal Lawyers
Shipman & Crim, pllc
260 E. Broad St, Cookeville, TN 38501
Direct: (931) 303 – 0421
332 White Bridge Rd, Nashville, TN 37209
Office: (615) 829 – 8259