DUI 2nd (Second) in Tennessee
What are the punishments for DUI second in Tennessee?
Conviction for a second DUI offense in Tennessee carries the following potential punishment:
– Minimum 45 days in jail up to 11 months, 29 days
– Maximum $3,500 Fine
– Loss of drivers license for two years
– Alcohol and/or Drug Treatment
– Ignition Interlock Device Installation
Is there any way to avoid jail time if I am convicted of a DUI second in Tennessee?
Unfortunately, no. If you are convicted of a DUI second offense, you are guaranteed to go to jail which makes it all that much more important you hire a DUI attorney to defend your case. Sometimes mistakes are made – and those mistakes can result in anything from a reduction of the DUI charge to dismissal of the DUI charge. Each case must be analyzed on its own facts. If you would like to discuss your case with a Tennessee criminal defense lawyer, contact our office today.
If you have been charged with any DUI offense in Cookeville or another Middle Tennessee county, immediately contact a Cookeville DUI attorney to discuss the facts of your case.
Cookeville Office: (931) 303 – 0421
Nashville Office: (615) 823-5084
DUI 2nd – Tennessee Law
T.C.A. 55 – 10 – 403
For conviction on the second offense, there shall be imposed a fine of not less than six hundred dollars ($600) nor more than three thousand five hundred dollars ($3,500), and the person or persons shall be confined in the county jail or workhouse for not less than forty-five (45) days nor more than eleven (11) months and twenty-nine (29) days, and the court shall prohibit the convicted person or persons from driving a vehicle in this state for a period of time of two (2) years. Upon the conviction of a person on the second offense only, a judge may sentence the person to participate in a court approved alcohol or drug treatment program.
More Information the DUI laws in Tennessee:
– DUI First Offense in Tennessee
– DUI Third Offense in Tennessee
– Felony DUI (Fourth or more ) in Tennessee